The Watsons Go to Birmingham 1963

“And You Wonder Why We Get Called the Weird Watsons” says the title of Chapter 1 of The Watsons Go to Birmingham 1963 by Christopher Paul Curtis. 10 year old Kenny Watson lives in with his family in Flint, Michigan. Oh, I forgot! I should introduce you to the Watsons. There’s Dad, Momma, little sister Joetta, Kenny, and “official juvenile delinquent” Byrone. After all the adventures the Watsons will have in Flint, Momma and Dad plan a trip to grandma’s in Birmingham. They hope that if they leave Byrone a grandma’s then his troublemakimg mind will be put to rest. But little did the Watsons know, that they were about to run into one of the worst acts of discrimination in history.

For teachers, click here for Scholastic’s Reading Guide for The Watsons Go to Birmingham 1963 by Christopher Paul Curtis.

Click here for Christopher Paul Curtis’ website.

Click here for Kidsreads.com version on Christopher Paul Curtis.

2 thoughts on “The Watsons Go to Birmingham 1963

  1. Matt,
    I think your review and your comment will inspire others to read this book and maybe to reread it also. It makes me laugh out loud when I read it. Such great characters in such real, funny situations.
    Your comment reminded me of this quote from Vernon Lee: “The greatest pleasures of reading consist of rereading.”

  2. I read this book 3 TIMES!!! (That’s how much I loved it!)
    Really Great Book!! 5 stars hands down!!
    Matt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *