The Trumpet of the Swan

The Trumpet of the Swan

By E.B. White

The Trumpet of the Swan

I love this book: Trumpet of the Swan. It’s about a swan that is born different from all his brothers and sisters. Because of this he also finds out that there is another way he is different – in a musical way. If you like adventures this book is a real adventure. There’s a robbery of the trumpet and a fox that tries to kill the mother. I loved this book because I like swans and this is a swan story so it was a good book to read.

If you read and liked Charlotte’s Web you should like Trumpet of the Swan. If you like nature and swans then you should read it. This book has a strong hook that explains about a musical swan with a lot of surprises up its sleeve.  The bad thing is it’s so interesting but there’s no sequel. This book is good for 8-12 year-olds.

I hope you read this book. It’s really good.

2 thoughts on “The Trumpet of the Swan

  1. Great Review!
    I loved this book so much when I read it because it was one of the first chapter books that I really enjoyed. I liked it because you could really relate to Louis the Swan and the perspective is also in Louis’ view as well as Sam’s. E.B. White is a great author. I really loved his books. If you liked E.B. White’s books you will probably enjoy Roald Dahl’s books. Some of his pieces are for smaller kids but you can enjoy them anyway. Some of his more advanced books are “Boy”(an autobiography about his childhood) and “Going Solo”(an autobiography about his adulthood.)
    Happy Summer,
    Matt

  2. Thanks for your book review. The Trumpet of the Swan is one of my all-time favorites. I would love to walk along with Sam Beaver and see all that he sees. His habit of recording his day and falling to sleep with a question is one I appreciate. It’s how I begin and end my day.

    In addition to Sam, I love that Louis is an honorable swan. There are so many wonderful adventures as he works to pay back his debt. I hope you get to ride the Swan Boats this summer and hum “Beautiful Dreamer” as you ride.

    Happy Reading,
    Mrs. Eaves

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *